Hello Jomo, good morning.

p1110037

Hello Sheepmund, how are you doing?

p1110038

In what area of my life are you showing interest, Jomo?

p1110039

Huh?

p1110040

You asked how I was doing. Do you mean how am I doing mentally? Physically? Spiritually? Financially? Emotionally? Geographically? Workwise? Leisure wise? Sexually? Psychologically? And on what measuring scale must I answer? Dichotomal saying fine or not fine? Or put me somewhere on a scale from one to five, one being crap as hell and five being lush as heaven? Or must I compare my current ‘doing’ with how I felt yesterday? Or last year? Or compared to my neighbor?

p1110041

O crap Sheepmund, can’t you just say fine and be done with it?

p1110042

That would have been so much easier, if that is what you mean,  Jomo.

p1110043

Well, at least quicker.

p1110044

You in a hurry?

p1110045

No,.. but I .. I mean.. I thought.. eh, I want this session to be about me…

p1110046

People who start a sentence with ‘no, but’ are actually saying ‘yes, because’. You in a hurry Jomo? Just say Yes, because you want this session to be about you.

p1110047

Mäaaaaaaaah..

p1110048

Ah goodie! I observe another defense mechanism. Crying. It’s a very common tension reducer and relief bringer, sometimes even a manipulator. Crying in mähhood is a very good way of making contact. Especially when you are young and you aren’t able to verbalize your needs and wants, you have this mechanism of getting attention, and that is to make noise and cry. It’s the elder that then has to figure out whether you are hungry, sleepy, scared, in pain, whatever. Normally crying induces sympathy, comfort and emotional support.

p1110049

Normally?

p1110050

Well, yeah, you asked me how I was doing, right? Well, even a psychiatrist sometimes feels like crap. Maybe it should be me shedding some tears even..

p1110051

 

 

